Praying for the president.

I dislike politics with a passion. When the arguments begin, I shut off. Mostly because the arguments are usually aimed at putting down the other side. They give the air of “my opinion is better and right and I’m going to patronize you until you give up.” But I also dislike politics because it dehumanizes those who are in power in this country. They become entities of either good or evil, depending on your opinion, and the divisions of parties reduce all politicians to whiny children (or so it seems).

As congress continues to play humpty-dumpty, Obama is entering his second term as president of the United States. Many are elated and many are furious. But America decided and I believe that we must come to terms with this. I grew up in a conservative family but have many liberal friends. While both sides are very vocal in their disdain, or love, for the president. There is always one thing missing from both conversations: the realization that Barrack Obama is only a human being.

I do not agree with all of what Obama stands for. As a Christian, I believe in God, it is my faith and how I hope to live my life. And though I do not believe in or agree with certain policies and agendas that our president has, my response to the fragile state of America and the recent swearing in of the president, is based in 1 Timothy 2:1-2, “First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.”

We ideally hope that the politicians we elect will be the saviors of us and give us, and America, the fix it needs to be a thriving society. Unfortunately though, our president and the rest of the politicians in Congress and all over the U.S. are only human. When we look at the president with that in mind, then he seems less like this formidable enemy or loving god, but someone who resembles the rest of us.

When I look at the president, I see a man who has the weight of this nation on his shoulders. Whatever decisions he makes will affect every American as well as many internationally. I see a man who worries about the future his children will have and the future that all the children of America will have. I also see a man who loves his wife and family, and I do believe that he loves this country too.

The beauty of this country is that we have a right to our beliefs, whatever they are. We are able to disagree with our political leaders and have the ability of a free election to vote our leaders in or out. Though I disagree with the president, I pray that he will be wise in his decisions. I urge everyone, regardless of beliefs, to look at all of our politicians as what they are. As human beings who are like the rest of us when it comes to the basic idea that they must make decisions to represent us. And though it seems that their decisions and decision-making are ineffective, they are still responsible, and we must, respectfully, let them know that.

4 thoughts on “Praying for the president.

  1. I would have to agree that we seem to put politicians on a higher platform then regular Americans. But while they are only human and that we do elect them into office. To memit just seems like we have people that go in seeming ok, then they turn their back on our opinions and needs. But we do seem to be too critical for the most part. It’s just so difficult to see how things will be getting done correctly with how much greed is in our government today.

  2. I could not agree more with you Caitlin. I was also brought up in a conservative family but surrounded by both conservative and liberal friends. The whole point of a democracy is to “listen to the people,” but in the more recent years I have found politicians are pressing their own views and opinions more than trying to express the citizens’ voice. Some politicians may need to be reminded on how they go into office in the first place. I too do not agree with some of President Obama’s view, but he is our current president and I hope he does make the right decisions. Our country is at a very fragile stage at the moment and our government needs to work together along with the support of the citizens so our nation doesn’t completely fall apart!

  3. This is a beautifully written post, and while at its core it is column, I think it could be turned into an editorial with a bit of effort. Not sure if that is your intent, but it could be done.

  4. Wow! Great post, Caitlin! Like Dr. Hanson said, this is wonderfully written and was very enticing to read. It was so great to be reminded that we are all on the same “team” and, while we can disagree with many of Obama’s actions, it makes no sense to root against our own team. I love the bible verse you included. What a wonderful way to state that our presidents are not God or Jesus but are simply human beings. As sin is in our nature, we can expect no less of our presidents. They experience temptations and sometimes succumb to those just as we often do. Why criticize that which we could do no better? Although I do disagree with many of Obama’s beliefs and policies, I also pray that he will lead our nation in the right direction while taking our best interests into consideration rather than his own.

Leave a Reply

