Too much information

Have you ever noticed that the moment you think what you’re eating is healthy and then they come out with a study saying that it’s really not? It seems that every five minutes a new study comes out that says coffee is healthy and then another that says it’s not. With the amount of information we have access to it’s become a massive headache to sift through what information is legitimate and what is false.

This is so much more prevalent in this day and age because of the internet. False information abounds, but I wonder, do we have access to too much information? There are very few times that I hang out with my friends and someone pulls out a smartphone or laptop to look up the answer to something we’ve been arguing about.

What happened to the times when it was perfectly acceptable to not know the answer? There was once a time that when I didn’t know something, I wouldn’t be itching to find out. I was content with not knowing. Though I love the the internet and all of its fascinating gems, sometimes I wish I was transported back to when we didn’t have constant access to information at our fingertips.

 

6 thoughts on “Too much information

  1. It’s crazy to think how much has changed since the Internet. Yesterday I was talking with some of my professors about social media and wireless internet and how they keep everyone connected all the time. They brought up that being connected all the time sometimes makes you feel further behind rather than ahead. It takes up your free time. Rather than just relaxing people are always checking in to their accounts. I read a study that said 80% of people bring their laptops and phones on vacation so they can check email and other things.

  2. This is a really interesting post. I think about that too. Everyone is looking for the next breaking story and before long every thing contradicts something else. Advancements in technology have fueled the fire. It’s crazy to think about what it will be like 20 years from now.

  3. Despite how often I use the internet, there are many times when I too wish that we could go back to a time before this technologically advanced age. It is difficult to escape the daily bombardment of news/information. I often feel exhausted just from all of the information that is flying at me. I think it is also noteworthy to point out the possibility of our generation taking all of this information for granite. We can so easily find ANYTHING we want that perhaps we have lost the value of that information. This is a very interesting topic and there is so much that could be said regarding it.

  4. I think you’re right that we have too much information, but only for certain things. Yes we do all seem to see 20 different articles about one topic but it also tells us that more people are out there curious to see how things are. With that in mind I think that the use of Internet should be restricted to medical, law, and other important aspects our lives. Education should be another main focus for something like this but it’s moving more towards entertainment and social media. Just pointless at times if you ask me.

  5. We’ve gone from a time where we suffered from a shortage of information to a time where we have an excess. In both cases, it was hard to find the information that we needed and could count on.

  6. Great scene from the classic Woody Allen film Sleeper, in which he goes into cryosleep for 200 years and discovers everything he thought he knew was wrong:

Leave a Reply

