The end of a fictional era

I love books and reading. Perhaps it’s why I want to be a children’s librarian. But there is a sad moment when you finish a series that you’ve grown up with. Artemis Fowl, by Eoin Colfer, has been a favorite of mine since the preteen age of 11. The eighth and final book in the series, “The Last Guardian,” released the July of 2012 and I finally found enough time to sit down and read the conclusion of the deviant adventures of Artemis Fowl.

Before I move on, here’s a quick description of Artemis Fowl. The books begin with 11-year-old-criminal-mastermind-super-genius Artemis Fowl from Ireland. Hell-bent on hoarding all the gold he can possibly find, Artemis searches the myths of fairies (because fairies have gold) and learns that they aren’t a myth.

However, regardless of how smart and quick-witted Artemis is, he doesn’t quite realize what he’s getting himself into when he captures Captain Holly Short. One of the few female elves in the fairy police for known as the Lower Elements Police Recon, or LEPRecon.

If you have guess, these fairies are highly advanced, which is really more of a fun challenge for Artemis than anything. I won’t tell you the whole story, but the first book sparks an odd and sometimes grudging partnership of Holly and Artemis on multiple adventures throughout the eight books.

To be honest, this is one of those stories that sounds slightly ridiculous when described, but the quick wit and humor of Eoin Colfer as well as the fact that you are never able to guess Artemis’ plans until he decides to divulge them makes the books addictive.

But finishing the series was bittersweet, Artemis ends the series between the ages of 15 and 18 (it gets a little fuzzy around “The Time Paradox”), meaning that it’s a book about Artemis growing up. Plus as Colfer puts it, it’s kind of like “Die Hard with fairies.” But the end of the series means no more in the world of Artemis Fowl.

That’s sad to me, but also good. Good things must come to an end otherwise the story might fizzle out. Thankfully Artemis Fowl did no such thing, and if you’re looking for a science fiction fantasy novel that isn’t at all predictable, Artemis Fowl is definitely a series to choose.

7 thoughts on “The end of a fictional era

  1. I am a huge fan of Rick Riordan’s New Olympians and Heroes of Olympus novels (featuring Percy Jackson and other modern demigod children of the Greek and Roman gods). I’ve listened to all of both series on audio book and find them more entertaining than most pop fiction targeted at adults.

  2. I empathize with you on this topic. I also love reading and particularly enjoy reading series. There is nothing quite like the anticipation of a long awaited book to be published. I, like so many others, felt this twinge of pain when the Harry Potter series ended. I am planning on rereading the books this summer but, for now, watching the movies will do. I think an interesting related topic could be in regards to the popularity of books today compared to years ago. I would be interested in seeing if the number of book readers has increased or decreased throughout the years. I have a saddening suspicion that they have decreased but I may be wrong. With the advent of technology may have come a new popularity of books through ebooks and such. I enjoyed your post! Made me long for more time to read!

    1. I also empathize with both of you on this topic. I loved reading Harry Potter and I hated reading about him having a family only to have it end. I was wishing for another thousand pages on his life after that. But like Caitlin said the story has to end or it might fizzle out. I’m kind of surprised that book sales have actually increased. I assumed most people preferred watching movies, playing video games, or spending time on social media sites, etc. than they do reading books.

Leave a Reply

