Who knew cars and makeup had so much in common?

I’ve become consciously aware of two important things this week. I am helplessly incompetent when it comes to my car and makeup. While I understand the rudimentary elements of both. I can’t put eyeliner on to save my life.

But, this week, I’ve been learning. I had to by antifreeze for my car as an attempt to try and fix it. (Long story there). While the well meaning elderly gentlemen in the Walmart parking lot asked if I was having car trouble because I had my hood open. I was trying to figure out what exactly I needed to buy to fill the engine coolant container.

Cue the phone call to my dad. He explained what I needed and I was left to search some foreign terrain known as the auto center. It took awhile to find what I was looking for, but eventually I did. I even managed to refill my antifreeze without a funnel. It took some talent.

Now to the other incompetency. I was never much of a girly girl. I didn’t faun over dresses or beg to wear makeup. It wasn’t until college that I decided I should try out the whole makeup thing. So, with the basics from my mom, (and the free Mary Kay) I was able to get the gist of it. However, every time I walk into the makeup aisle in a store, I feel as lost as I did in the auto center.

There are too many choices. And why does it have to be so expensive? But, I have to learn. I won’t get into why I sometimes feel that the concept of makeup is ridiculous, but I, along with the majority of women, have been brainwashed into thinking that it’s necessary. I’m not a feminist, but it’s kinda true.

I needed more mascara. I also wanted to attempt eye liner again too. So, I had to venture into the unknown. The first attempt was a near failure.

When it comes to my car and makeup, I’m so used to having others deal with the decisions. My dad takes care of my car, and my mom provides the makeup. In my defense, I’ve only had a car since August and the whole makeup thing never interested my that much anyways, but I have to start learning to take care of these things myself.

It might just take awhile…. and I have a feeling I’ll never master eyeliner.

 

This was originally posted on my personal blog Curiously Thinking.

3 thoughts on “Who knew cars and makeup had so much in common?

  1. I enjoyed this post! I’ve had a car since I was 15 and have worn makeup, probably since middle school. But, the again, I am more of a girly girl… Trust me, I understand your pain though. It took a long time for me to learn all of the responsibilities of maintaining a car, but now I can even change my own tire. As far as makeup goes, you’re completely right in saying that it’s so expensive! I spend about $8 on eyeliner alone. It’s an art that just takes a ton of practice, you’ll get there. 🙂

  2. Fun story! And definite column material, though I like the one on the iPod better. Though that could be just me….

Leave a Reply

