The idea of writing a book

I daydream a lot. Call it a side effect of severe introversion, but I’ve always wondered what would happen if I began to use my daydreams for the purpose of creating a story that others could read. This  could amount to something amazing, or nothing at all. But I’ve had the feeling that it’s something I need to do.

These last couple days, an idea popped into my head and subsequently two characters that are constantly having conversations. I’ve had story ideas before, but they’ve always fallen through because the places the characters were going, I couldn’t follow. But these characters now… well, to be honest, they won’t shut up. My mind continues to wander over to them and listen to what they’re saying.

So I’ve decided to write down what they say and see what happens. I’ve been learning over these last few years, that you can’t see if a risk will pan out unless you actually take it. Maybe I’ll end up with a book, or pages of nothing at all. But I’ll never find out if I don’t write anything down.

3 thoughts on “The idea of writing a book

  1. I think you should totally continue to write down these thoughts, you never know what it could lead to! Given the area of study that you’re going into, I think it would be awesome if one of your books was on those shelves one day. 🙂

  2. The thing about writers is that they write. Always write! You never know where it will take you.

    And never delete or throw something away. Storage is cheap. Stephen King tried to throw away his first draft of Carrie. His wife stopped him.

  3. That happens to me sometimes too, but not with books, but poetry. It will randomly come to me and I repeat it in my head over and over till I find a pen and paper to jot it down. You should keep doing this with your thoughts and see what comes of it!

Leave a Reply

