Post-it note Jesus

My faith is very important to me. I grew up in a Christian home and in college really discovered who I am and who Jesus is and how He fits into my life. During college I was involved in The Navigators, which is an international Christian organization. While there were many ups and downs in the last four years, one thing has always stayed the same. I am awful at reading the Bible. I just am. I use this excuse all the time when people talk about doing quiet times or just reading regularly.

However, I’ve realized that I can’t make that excuse anymore. So this summer, I’ve come up with a plan to kick that excuse out the door. As a Christian, I believe that it is very important to read the Bible because that is the Word that God gave us. There are so many books that I’ve never even flipped to in my 22 years going to church.

When it comes to quiet times, they’ve always intimidated me because every person who talks about them says you need to journal after reading. Needless to say, I don’t like writing in journals. But I needed a way to still be able to  have a reminder of what I read. Cue the post-its.

For my summer reading plan, I want to read the Bible  everyday. So, instead of journaling, which would make me lose interest. I must read a section, pick a verse, write that verse on a post-it, and them write a short thing about it. Sometimes I write questions that the passage gave me or just a little prayer.

I am hoping that this exercise will allow me to grow in my faith and create a habit of reading the Bible regularly. I can’t wait to see the end results with this!

One thought on “Post-it note Jesus

  1. That sounds like a great plan! I sometimes feel guilty because I devote so much of my time to reading other books and stories that, in the long run, don’t matter. I decided almost two years ago now to read a chapter from the Bible every morning and I, for the most part, have stuck with it. I make sure to save enough time in the mornings to read while I’m eating breakfast and it worked great for me. Sometimes I feel rushed and might not pay as much attention as I could but I’ve found that it’s a great way to start my day. And what’s better than beginning a new day with the mind set of glorifying God in all that we do! The only problem is that chapters in the Old Testament are too long to read all at once during my morning routine, so I am now reading the New Testament again for the second time. I need to find a new plan of attack for the Old Testament!

Leave a Reply

