Observations about the Circus

I don’t get political. I hate politics. They are divisive and cause people to be mean. Perhaps that simple language, but I prefer simple to complex. I am an independent. The reasons are fairly simple, I don’t fully agree with either party so I don’t feel comfortable claiming either. And yes I do happen to lean to one side more so than the other, but when I read the news or hear something on the radio, I just get mad. I get pissed off at both parties and everything.

I know that politics are important and I know that they are necessary, but seriously Congress, stop acting like arrogant elitists. This government shutdown is not some victory. 800,000 people are out of work and while you may call them nonessential, many of the services that have been shutdown were essential to many Americans in this country. I couldn’t do homework for graduate school (which I am paying for, by the way) because of you.

Many would say that I should just be blaming the Republicans, or the Democrats, or the President, but I disagree. I am blaming all of them. They are ALL playing the stubborn child. They are ALL causing this damage. NONE of them seem to care about us. For all the Liberals and Conservatives out there. They don’t care about us. They care about their jobs and their agendas, but they don’t give a crap about us.

Maybe some of them do. Maybe some of them are really pulling for us, so we need to let them know that they need to be louder. I’ve come to the conclusion that both parties are extremely radicalized. It’s unfortunate, but it’s so hard for those who are not so extreme to get a word in. I have a secret for you: most republicans are not like the ones in Congress and most democrats are not like the ones in Congress. I think it’s safe to say that most of the American population is simply fed up by all of this.

I am and I hate it all. Some people will disagree with me and some people will get very mad and condescendingly try to correct my views which is why I haven’t actually mentioned my personal views on the Affordable Care Act or the whole budget mess. These are my observations about the whole situation. Please be kind in responding, I will delete your comment if it is not.

2 thoughts on “Observations about the Circus

  1. The divisiveness is truly damaging–to our country, its systems and its people. It’s also one of the reasons that “Savages” from Pocahantas is at the top of my driving play list to remind me to pray that we might soon see real politicians that care for the people rather than the polarized bureaucracy that has emerged.
    Politics in its proper place (as a service to the country, not for oneself) is admirable. Unfortunately, most of the “politicians” around now are more interested in serving personal or party interests than the public interests.

Leave a Reply

