An update and a thank you.

Hello world! 

Today is a beautiful crisp autumn day. Sadly, I must be inside, but I did walk to the Starbuck that was further away, just to get some time outside. I love this weather and I truly can’t believe that it’s already November 11. Where did this time go? This also means that I only have 5 weeks (really I should take Thanksgiving week out, so 4 weeks) until the semester is over and about 7-8 projects and papers left… oh boy. Next semester I’ll be more diligent in getting work done at the beginning of the semester. However, I think I’m on a good track to passing my classes for this semester. 

Since I haven’t posted in awhile, I thought I’d give a quick update! 

I got a job. Most of you already know this, but I absolutely love it. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed working in a library and how the job isn’t stressful to me. The branch that I work at is small and pretty much only the members of that community use it so it has the feel of a small town library, while being connected with all the other libraries in the county. My coworkers are also really great. They have been super welcoming and helpful! There can be a bit of downtime during the day, which is nice because it allows us to talk and hang out a bit. (While still being diligent and paying attention if someone needs help.) Working here has re-affirmed my desire to be a librarian. It’s also helped me look past the classes that are more frustrating than helpful. 

I also found a church. I have to say a huge thank you to my Uncle Wayne for messaging me one day about a church that his friend was a pastor of. It’s only two blocks from my house and meets at night (which is good because my body doesn’t like to wake up early on the weekends.) It’s a small community, but from the moment I started going I was immediately welcomed. It’s so wonderful to have that, especially when I don’t know anyone very well here. I’ve been struggling (off and on) with just missing familiarity, whether that be having close friends nearby or completely flat land. I knew that this would be a part of moving 1,000 miles away, but that doesn’t make it easier. I just have to constantly remind myself that it took a year or more to develop good friendships with my friends in Nebraska. But, back to this church. I think it’s exactly what my heart needs and I truly enjoy the service structure. I’ve never really been to a presbyterian (this is the first time I spelled that right) church before, but I think it’s a great fit for me. 

I get to babysit. I love kids, and I love hanging out with them. (If you’re reading this Sam, I think your kids are absolutely adorable and I would enjoy watching them anytime.)

School is still there. Like I said earlier, it’s getting busier every day, but I think I have a good plan of attack for the remainder of the semester. Even though I’m procrastinating a bit right now. I just registered for next semester’s classes and it’s going to be interesting. I’m taking four classes and they are all once a week… three of them all in a row from noon until about 9 p.m. one day. The fourth class is online because I thought I would get sick of class for the rest of the week after that day. But I’m still really excited for some of them. It should be an interesting semester!

And because I haven’t said it yet, I just want to say that I am so grateful for our men and women in uniform, those who have fought and those who just signed up; those who lost their lives in battle and those who came safely home. You all made the decision to sacrifice your lives to protect this country. I am so honored to know the men and women in uniform that I do. Even though today is just Veteran’s Day, I still find it as a day to honor all who serve past, present, and future. 

Leave a Reply

