Allegient: A Book Review (It’s very vague)

I tried to not put spoilers in here, but readers beware.

Or just skip the first paragraph because even though it’s insanely vague, it might give too much away… not really though.

 

This is your last chance to turn away, otherwise it’s completely your fault. (Seriously, though, I don’t give anything away.)

 

I recently just finished reading the final installment of the Divergent series by Veronica Roth: Allegiant. I have never been so conflicted about the ending of a series. I just… I don’t know. I will say that I liked the book, but I don’t necessarily think that I loved it. The final book wasn’t what I expected, though I did actually like the twist at the end. I didn’t like that one part though.. nope, that wasn’t fun. I felt a little like I was watching a M. Night Shyamalan movie.

If you’re thinking of reading the Divergent series, I would absolutely recommend it. The first two books are intriguing and the world Roth creates is fascinating. While the main character is a girl, Tris, I wouldn’t consider the book geared towards girls.

Perhaps I should back up and explain a little bit about this series.

Divergent is set in a dystopian society that is ¬†separated into five factions of Abnegation, Candor, Erudite, Amity, and Dauntless. Each faction carries the strength of their name and all the members of that faction strive to emulate the character traits of their respective factions. Everything from what you learn, how you act, and how you dress are decided through this. It’s a peaceful society overall.

At the age of 16, every person must take a test that determines which faction they belong to. Some stay in their same faction, but others choose another. The story follows Beatrice, a girl in the Abnegation faction. When she takes her test, she learns that she fits more than one faction– she is Divergent. Sadly for her, being Divergent is dangerous because it means that she doesn’t fit anywhere. Now Beatrice must choose a faction and learn how to hide her Divergence from those who wish all Divergent dead.

You want to read it now, right?

Well, if I haven’t convinced you yet, look below to watch the trailer of the movie that is coming out next year! (I’m super pumped.)

2 thoughts on “Allegient: A Book Review (It’s very vague)

  1. I just read that book over Thanksgiving break too! I wasn’t impressed by the book as a whole, though it had it’s moments. I really liked the first 2 books, though.

    I was kind of intrigued by the ending. It seemed very Mockingjay-like…I wonder if the not-so-happy-endings are going to become a thing in YA lit.

Leave a Reply

