In Nebraska

I’m sitting in Barista’s in Kearney (my favorite coffee shop that no coffee shop in Pittsburgh has ever lived up to) and have already ran into two  people that I know. Have I really been living in Pittsburgh for four months? It’s surreal. I flew into Omaha and wasn’t shocked by the amount of space there is. I’m not amazed at how flat it is… if anything I now notice how flat it isn’t. This place hasn’t changed that much.

But I have.

One friend that I saw mentioned that I wasn’t wearing grey and black today. I apparently wore a lot of that during school… she probably would have been speechless if I’d decided to do wing-tipped eyeliner today… but jet lag prevented me… Or maybe that was being up from 3:30 am- 10:30 pm central time.

But I have definitely changed in the last four months. I feel older. I know that my 23rd birthday isn’t until Saturday, but whenever people ask me how old I am, I already say 23. I’m more willing to do new things and to do things on my own. I’m learning that it’s okay to not have expectations met.

But I’m sitting in Barista’s and it’s nice to have a place that’s absolutely familiar. The workers are different, but the place is the same. At this very moment, Pittsburgh feels more like a dream than a reality. Though the opposite is true.

I also feel weird that I haven’t walked anywhere today… that will be amended though when I walk to my friends house. I have a feeling that this visit will be a rare one. I love Kearney, and Nebraska, but I’m not the same person I was when I started my freshman year in 2009… I not the same person that graduated here this May.

And I absolutely love the feeling.

Leave a Reply

