I forgot that I love to read.

This last weekend I realized that I had forgotten how wonderful it is to just sit and read a book. I’m currently taking a YA Resources class and needed to get through two books in order to not feel completely behind. So I spent Saturday and a couple hours on Sunday reading. The first book I read was “A Monster Calls” which had me in tears by the end because it was about letting go… no matter how painful that can be. I wasn’t expecting this book to be like that, but it was, and it was beautiful.

The second book I read was called “Graceling” which was a fantasy book that didn’t involve vampires, werewolves, or fairies… though I can admit that I don’t mind books that have those fantastical elements (to some extent). But it was a crazy adventure- though the names through me off a bit (e.g. Po, Bitterblue, Leck). But that’s not the point.

Lately when I want to relax, I would turn to Netflix or Hulu to fill my time and I would always complain that I didn’t have time to read a book. That was a bit of a lie, because the time I had to read a book, I was filling with other things. I think this is broader in life as well. What we spend our time on defines us. As Switchfoot says in their song “The World You Want, “What you say is your religion/ How you say it’s your religion/ Who you love is your religion/ How you love is your religion/ All your science, your religion/ All your hatred, your religion/ All your wars are your religion/ Every breath is your religion.”

While that is very broad in its scope, their whole song ask the question of “is this the world you want?” and answer it with “you’re making it.” I would argue that this goes down to the smallest decisions we make. Preferring to spend time watching television versus spending that time on other things, shapes your world… it shapes my world. I’m not saying that television is bad. What I am saying is that every decision we make affects us- good or bad.

I’ve let my own priorities become skewed. I have the ability to change where I spend my time and what I value. The realization probably seems obvious, but since when are humans very good at realizing the obvious? Are there things in your life that you wished took more priority or less?

Here’s the full Switchfoot song:

Leave a Reply

