Born To Lose

Today some of you get to learn something new about me. I really like metalcore. For those unfamiliar with the term, metalcore “is a broad fusion genre of extreme metal and hardcore punk.” Thank you Wikipedia for that lovely definition. I have my cousin to thank for this because he has been my biggest influence in this genre. He has this uncanny ability suggest bands that I will like… seriously, there is not a single metalcore band that he has suggested for me that I haven’t liked.

But I love it. It’s a mix of exquisitely beautiful and chaotic instrumentals that fuse together and somehow, it allows the screaming to be complementary and contrasting at the exact same time. But enough with introductions because this whole post was simply about sharing one of my favorite songs by The Devil Wears Prada. I love this song because is speaks of the war that is within ourselves… at least it does to me. It could also be pointed at someone else, but whenever I listen to this song, it’s almost as a reminder to myself. I’m probably explaining this horribly, but that is life.

Read the lyrics and then watch the video… it’s powerful.

Born to Lose

Blessed be those who have no idols.
I invoke holy honor, sanctify the patient.
I don’t see the world the same.
I’m no one’s hero, so just forget my name.

I abhor you,
With every foolish thing that you say.

None of it is worth the time:
Another meaningless war.

You don’t know what you need.
We’re all so back and forth,
Nothing is as it seems.
You don’t know what you need.
We make the same mistakes,
We’ve ruined everything.

What is it this time?
What must you call holy?
This is your lifeline,
Nothing is as it seems.
If I were you I’d give it up.
I’d give it up. I’d give it up.

If I were you I’d care.
I’m born to lose
With a noose around my neck.
World be damned and move forward.

I abhor you,
With every selfish thing that you say.
None of it is worth the time.

You don’t know what you need.
We’re all so back and forth,
Nothing is as it seems.
You don’t know what you need.
We make the same mistakes,
We’ve ruined everything.

Born to lose, born to lose
Born to lose
With a noose around my neck.

Leave a Reply

