A bit of an update.

Some of you reading this know that a couple weeks ago I had an interview near Denver for a Teen Librarian position. This was a second interview and the flew me out. For some of you, this is the first time hearing about it. Sadly, I did not receive the position at that library. It was a bit of a bummer when I found out last Tuesday, but thankfully, I’ve been able to push on and there have been so many positives from this experience:

  • This was my very first official interview for a professional library position. I didn’t know what to expect or what questions they were going to ask. I’m sure interviews are different for every library, but to know what one library was asking will help me in the future. Some of of the questions they brought up were things I hadn’t really thought about yet- so now I’m thinking about them.
  • I got to see my best friend for the first time since Christmas break. I honestly hadn’t realized how long it had been since I had seen Kimber until I was about to fly to Denver. I really couldn’t believe that it had been so long. 

Really, those are the positives and the negatives list is even shorter. Looking ahead, though, I’m still searching for jobs. There are some prospects that intrigue me, and I am in the process of tailoring my cover letters and filling out applications. At the same time, I am hoping to find another job in order to continue to pay my living expenses here in Pittsburgh. Which had just made me think of another positive to not getting the job in Pittsburgh:

  • I get to stay in Pittsburgh longer. I’m super excited for this because of the friendships that have been growing and there is so much about Pittsburgh that I haven’t explored yet. I get to be here for a time in which the stress of grad school isn’t looming over me. 
  • Also, speaking of the residual effects of that stress, while in Denver, I found a grey hair. I’m sure it had been there for awhile, but there were moments in grad school where I was so stressed that it felt like my hair was turning grey. (You could also see where that strand of hair lost its pigment which was kind of fascinating. 

That last one wasn’t really a positive, but more of an interesting factoid about me. Anyway, I am excited to still be in Pittsburgh, especially with so many exciting things happening for my church family (a particularization service and a move to a new time and building). It has been such an amazing experience to be apart of the growth of Grace and Peace. Never before have I been in such a loving and intentional community. 

Well, there’s an update on me. Hopefully there will be some good job news in the near future! 

Leave a Reply

