Since I’ve been gone

Eeek!

I haven’t posted since October of 2014.

That’s typical of me.

While I could get into the stressful life I currently live (in which the majority of stress come from my ongoing and sometime seemingly unending job search) I am not going to. It’s more personal than I feel like sharing. Instead I’m going to share a different side. I’ve had a lot of extra time and in the last several months that time has been split between Netflix and Target (no joke, if you can’t find something at the Target in East Liberty, give me a call, I probably know where it is).

So here are some of my favorites of the last few months:

*This list is separated by category, but the categories are random*

Books:

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (audiobook): I have been listening to this book since October of 2013… essentially FOREVER. But it was 38 hours long and I was also in school. But all-in-all I love it. I now have only 6 hours left. I know some people can’t stand Anna Karenina, but I’ve found it so fascinating to listen to the dynamics of the various relationships.
  • The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend: This is a picture book, and it is beautiful. It recently won the Caldecott, and quite honestly is the best story I’ve read.
  • Scary Close by Donald Miller: I really like Donald Miller, though admittedly I’ve only read half of Blue Like Jazz. But Scary Close is about creating more intimate relationships. Instead of being a “self-help” book, it’s really just Miller’s story and some anecdotes about others. I like that there are moments in which I recognize certain issues that Miller has as ones I struggle with, but then there are others that I don’t struggle with.

Movies:

  • Birdman: I really liked the aesthetic* of this film though disliked the direction of the story at certain points. Regardless it was exquisitely filmed.
  • The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Be warned that this film is very sad. It follows a couple played by Jessica Chastain and James McAvoy who have experienced a major tragedy and have now drifted apart. The film starts without giving much information, but as it progresses, layers are added that give more context to the pain being experienced. I felt that it was very realistic in that pain and trauma doesn’t always present itself in a coherent way. Sometimes it comes out in bits and pieces.

Music:

  • Imagine Dragons- Smoke and Mirrors: I am always pleasantly surprised by this band. Their usually get radio-play, and the song that gets replayed is usually good, but then you listen to the full album and realize how truly talented this group is. I recently purchased their album and though I haven’t listened to its entirety, I know it will be on repeat for awhile. It’s hard to get through an album when you keep hitting repeat on the second song because you love the sound of it.
  • Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars: This song puts me in the nest mood. I just can’t get over how happy it makes me.
  • Arrows by Fences ft. Macklemore: These two artists have very different energies. Fences is very laid back and Macklemore is very high strung in this song. But they meld so well and I like the lyrics so much. I could wax poetic about this song. (P.S. I hadn’t seen the music video until today, but I ABSOLUTELY love it).

Television:

  • Call the Midwife: I find birth terrifying and fascinating.
  • Orphan Black: This show starts its third season incredibly soon and I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that the main actress plays more than 8 different characters on the show.
  • Friends: I’m so late to the game on this, but I wasn’t allowed to watch it growing up. It was wonderful.

Food: (weird category, I know)

  • Siggi’s Icelandic yogurt: Best. Yogurt. Ever.
  • Kale: I sincerely never thought I would like kale since I tend to dislike most green vegetables- especially if they are leaves. But it’s delicious. Current favorite recipe: olive oil + small potatoes + kale + Old Bay seasoning + large skillet + medium-high heat = deliciousness.

Well, those are some of my favorite things right now. I can’t promise that I will post often. One day I hope to really invest energy in this blog. I like it and think it could be a good platform for things.

Notes and other references:
*I jumped for joy that I spelled aesthetic correct the first time.  

Leave a Reply

